Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Ashley Medlar

September 30, 2011 at 3:18 pm Leave a comment

Ashley Medlar is the Giving Corps Service Leadership Fellow at Cradles to Crayons.  She assists with the day-to-day management of the Giving Corps, particularly the Teen Leadership Corps and the College Corps.  Ashley has been at C2C for three months!


Describe working at Cradles to Crayons in 3 words or less.

Purple. Awesome. Cake

What is the best part of your job?

I get to hang out with fantastic high school and college students all the time.  They’re so much fun, and I really love to see them get excited about service and their own leadership abilities.  It’s amazing watching a 14-year-old stand up in front of a group of adults and tell them what to do!  The second best part of my job is being half of the Ashley and Ashley dream team.

What is your favorite station in the Giving Factory to work at? Why?

I love books.  I’m probably a little biased since it was the first one I really learned, but it’s still my favorite.  I loved to read when I was little (and I still do!), so it’s fun to look through old books that I remember and hope that the child that gets them loves them as much as I did.

What was your favorite book, toy, or outfit as a child?

My favorite toy was a Raggedy Ann doll that I got as soon as I was born.  Her name is Annie, and she used to go EVERYWHERE with me.  I dragged that poor doll through every mess I made, and I got so upset at preschool when they told me I had to keep her in my cubby.  I actually still have her at my apartment!

What children’s character can you relate with most? Why?

Despite the fact that my parents aren’t totally nuts, my headmaster wasn’t evil, and I can’t move things with my mind, I always related to Matilda from the Roald Dahl book.  I think it was our mutual love of reading.  I also liked how she always took matters into her own hands when things weren’t fair.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love nail polish, reading, and watching food shows on TV.  Put me in front of Food Network while I paint my nails and I am a happy camper.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I would love to still be here!  I would love to be able to wear this sweet purple sweatshirt at work for a long time.

Describe what you were like at age 10.

I was REALLY shy and had a strange obsession with the Weather Channel.  I was also embarrassingly tiny, and all the other kids in my class used to pick me up all the time just because they could.  Thank goodness I grew!

Entry filed under: Boston, C2C Staff Spotlight. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Marissa Ferber Skills-Based Volunteering: The Hired Pens

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

