C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Marissa Ferber

September 23, 2011 at 11:11 am Leave a comment

Marissa facing one of her biggest fears...chickens

Marissa Ferber is the Manager of Volunteer Relations at C2C Boston. She works with our volunteer team to ensure that every volunteer has their best experience possible at the Giving Factory while preparing only the highest-quality Kidpacks for our kids! Marissa has been with C2C for 8 months.

Why did you decide to work at C2C?

I always knew I would end up working at a nonprofit. I had actually volunteered at C2C a few times before coming to work here and loved it. Sometimes people can find it difficult that volunteers and staff don’t work directly with the children we serve, but that’s one of the reasons I appreciate this organization and part of why I chose C2C. I think there’s something admirable about volunteering your time where those you serve don’t know who’s helping them. It offers privacy for the families we serve. We have amazing volunteers!

What is your favorite station in the Giving Factory to work at?

Outfits. I’m really detail-oriented–I could sit in that room and organize the shelves all day!

What story about a child we have served has stuck with you most?

We received a donation of a brand-new toy vacuum cleaner in the Spring. When I was little I had an obsession with miniature versions of things around my house and knew I would have loved it at 4 years old (I was a trash can for Halloween when I was 3…I wonder how my parents explained that one to the neighbors!). I kept waiting for the vacuum to leave our birthday shelves and no one ever picked it. Finally, an order came in for a 4 yr old girl who desperately wanted a vacuum cleaner, and her social worker couldn’t believe we had found one for her! I just imagine how incredibly happy that little girl must have been to get her dream birthday gift.

Where are you originally from? What do you miss most about your hometown?

I was born on Long Island, NY but spent most of my life in Scottsdale, Arizona. I absolutely miss the weather! I still don’t understand how to use an umbrella or properly drive in the snow. I miss swimming year-round, carrying water bottles with me every time I step out of my house, and driving in circles until I find a parking spot with the tiniest sliver of shade in it. Having seasonal wardrobes is a completely foreign concept for me.

What was your favorite book, toy, or outfit as a child?

As I said, I was very in love with everything miniaturized. I had a collection of hundreds of tiny plastic dogs that I used to play with. I knew all of their names and life stories. My parents used to come home with random tiny items for me to use when I played with them—bows, paperclips, giant glittery pieces of confetti—I swear I was the cheapest child to keep entertained in the entire world.

What is your favorite memory from working at Cradles to Crayons?

I loved working my first Backpackathon event this year. There’s something incredibly fun about keeping a level head while running to refill supplies, pumping up your volunteers to move faster, and shouting to a Teen Leader to “borrow” a box of erasers from another tent.

Who is your role model?

I hope to be half as cool as my mother when I’m older. Clearly by the answers above, I’ve already destroyed any chance of that.

If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only take 3 things OR one other C2C staff member with you what/who would they be?

Oh my goodness, I would take Tams Tidwell, Assistant Volunteer Manager, in a second. We would spend the first few hours discussing why it was necessary for me to drag her onto my deserted island when she was perfectly happy at whatever dance party she had been attending. Then we would cry somewhere together for a few minutes about the fact that we are, in fact, stuck on a desert island. After that, I think we could easily entertain each other until we were rescued. We’re by far the loudest in the office when we’re together, so if neither of us showed up for work for a few days, it would be hard not to notice!

Thanks for sharing, Marissa.  Stay tuned for more staff spotlights each Friday.

Entry filed under: Boston, C2C Staff Spotlight. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions (plus 1 extra) with Dave Cotugno Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Ashley Medlar

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

