C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Julie Lima

August 18, 2011 at 9:24 am Leave a comment

Julie Lima is the Director of Individual and Family Philanthropy in Boston. Her job is is to raise money to benefit  C2C.  She greatly enjoys her job where every day she’s touched by people’s generosity and desire to make a difference in the world. Julie has been at C2C for 8 months.

What were you doing before you worked at Cradles to Crayons?   
I worked at the Pine Street Inn in a similar role.

Describe working at Cradles to Crayons in 3 words or less. 
Inspiring, Fun, and Hopeful

What story about a child we have served has stuck with you most?
It sometimes saddens me to think about how many children in my own community are living in such need, without basic essentials.  All kids have dreams and potential.  It doesn’t quite seem fair that some kids are born with such disadvantages. It’s the newborn orders that hit me the hardest.  The orders often come in without a name, and it reminds me that before these kids even enter the world they are at a disadvantage. What would these children do without the support of C2C? It is my faith in people that reassures me; it is the generosity of the volunteers, donors and community that make C2C run and gives me hope.  Children’s dreams and potential can flourish with love and support from the community.

What was your favorite book, toy, or outfit as a child? 
My favorite book was Charlotte’s Web. My dad read it to my sister and I every night before bed. I loved Wilbur and was so sad when Charlotte died. I had a pig collection when I was younger.

What do you like to do in your spare time? 
I like to run and spend time with my friends and adorable nieces and nephews. I also enjoy nature and love going to the beach and taking my dog, Nicky, for walks in the woods.

Describe what you were like at age 10. 
I was a tomboy. I loved sports and playing soccer. I enjoyed climbing trees and playing in the woods behind my house with my friends.

Who is your role model?  
My parents are my role models. They are hard workers, committed to their faith and taught me the importance of helping others.

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be?
I would like to meet former President Carter. I admire his dedication to the country and the world post Presidency.

Thanks for sharing, Julie! Stay tuned for more staff spotlights each Friday.

Entry filed under: C2C, C2C Staff Spotlight, Cradles to Crayons. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Digitas Day at C2C: by Barbara Goose, Executive Director at Digitas Boston and Detroit C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions (plus 1 extra) with Dave Cotugno

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

