C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Ashley Tarbet

July 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm 1 comment

Ashley Tarbet manages a new program here at Cradles to Crayons called the Giving Corps. The Giving Corps is a series of service leadership programs for teens, college students, and adults. She recruits, trains, schedules, and manages the Teen Leadership Corps, College Corps Internship program, and Champion Corps program for adults. She also has the opportunity to work with volunteers some days in The Giving Factory. Ashley started at Cradles to Crayons in July 2009 after graduating from Emerson College. When she began she was an AmeriCorps*VISTA volunteer filling the role of Volunteer Outreach Coordinator. After her VISTA year ended she was hired on as Group Volunteer Coordinator and Corporate Liaison, and was finally selected as Giving Corps Volunteer Manager upon creation of the program.

What were you doing before you worked at Cradles to Crayons?
Before working at C2C I studied Political Communications and Social Advocacy at Emerson College in Boston. While there, I volunteered and interned for an organization called Jumpstart, mentoring, teaching and serving preschool children in at-risk situations. I also worked for some time at the Boston Children’s Museum.

What is the best part of your job?
The best part of my job is working with other people as excited about serving children as I am, and getting youth interested in and excited about service.

What is your favorite station in the Giving Factory to work at?
My favorite station to work at is the Library. I love books and I love children’s books even more. It’s so much fun to sort through kids’ books, flip through them, and find books I loved when I was a kid. I love to hear stories from volunteers about the books they find too.

What was your favorite book, toy, or outfit as a child?
I loved the book “Are you my Mother” by Dr. Seuss because it was the first book I read all on my own. I also loved the “Corduroy” books because he was adorable and his adventures were exactly the kind of thing I imagined when I was a kid.

What is your favorite memory from working at Cradles to Crayons?
Hide and Seek and rolling bin races in the Quincy warehouse.

What do you like to do in your spare time? 
I love to cook! I am vegan and cooking and baking for myself, my friends, and my family is one of my favorite things to do. It has actually turned into a hobby too.

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be?
I would have loved to meet Joe Strummer of The Clash. He was an idol of mine growing up because of the music he made and the movement he represented. It would have been amazing to have just one conversation with him about music, politics, and life. He was a very intelligent person with lots of really big ideas.

What children’s character can you relate to most?
I think I relate most to Hermione from the Harry Potter series. I am very much a know-it-all (ask any staff member!), but am very loyal to my friends and my team, and am more than willing to stand up for what I think is right, even in the face of adversity.

Thanks for sharing, Ashley! Stay tuned for more staff spotlights each Friday.

Entry filed under: C2C Staff Spotlight. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Donate with Dignity: Clothing C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Chris Bentson

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

