C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Jaci DiMare

July 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm Leave a comment

Jaci DiMare is a Community Outreach Intern at Cradles to Crayons in Boston. She has been interning since the beginning of May and plans to continue until school resumes in fall.

What were you doing before you worked at Cradles to Crayons?
I attend Southern New Hampshire University where I will be a senior in the fall. I also worked at BOB’S Clothing Store.

Why did you decide to work at Cradles to Crayons?
I first came to Cradles last May when I did a community service project with Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminar (HOBY). The following December I went to South Africa for an alternative break with my school. On the trip we helped to fix a moldy, run down safe house for children to live because they had parents who were dealing with substance abuse issues and the living conditions at home were not safe.  When I returned home from South Africa I remembered my experience at Cradles and how many children just in Massachusetts were in need of help. I decided that I wanted to focus my passion for helping those in need on helping children close to home.

What is your favorite station in the Giving Factory to work at?
My favorite station in the Giving Factory is Outfits because I am Fashion Merchandise and Marketing major with a minor in Retail. Putting outfits together is perfect for me!

What is your favorite memory from working at Cradles to Crayons?
My favorite memory so far from working at Cradles is when the 2011 HOBY seminar attendees volunteered. We fit all 230 HOBY students into the Giving Factory and had every station up and running. I had never seen a group as large at Cradles, so it really amazed me.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
In my spare time I like going to the beach during the summer and skiing in the winter. I also enjoy running, playing soccer, singing, hanging out with my friends, and going to the movies and the mall.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
In five years I see myself as a Manager of a retail store that also donates clothing to the community. I also hope to be engaged and living in my own apartment.

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be? 
I would either want to meet Keith Urban or Rascal Flatts because I absolutely love their music and have gone to each one of their concerts since I was 17 years old. I also would love to meet Christano Ronaldo, who is a Professional Soccer Player for Portugal.

Describe what you were like at age 10.
At age ten I was a “witch at times,” says my mother.  I do not think I was the easiest child to live with. I was not cooperative and I would throw temper tantrums. I was also an active ten year old; I played soccer, danced and played basketball. I believe I was in the 4th grade at this age and at recess we would play house.

Thanks Jaci! We love having you as an intern this summer.

Entry filed under: Boston, C2C, C2C Staff Spotlight, Cradles to Crayons. Tags: , , , , .

C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Maureen Saraco C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Sarah Busbey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

