C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Maureen Saraco

July 1, 2011 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

“I’m glad that we were able to help, but it’s absolutely insane and heartbreaking that these kinds of situations exist for children in our city.”

Maureen Saraco is a Development Associate at Cradles to Crayons in Philadelphia. She helps to raise money for the organization’s general operations and programs, primarily by writing researching and writing grants to foundations and corporations. Maureen has been at Cradles to Crayons for two years. She was hired the day after she graduated from college.

What is your favorite part of working at Cradles to Crayons?
My favorite part of working at C2C is the people I work with. We have a great group that gets along really well. We work well together, but we are also genuine friends. I think that’s a pretty rare thing to have in the workplace.

What is your favorite station in the Giving Factory to work at?
I can’t decide between clothing packs, orders, and books. I love these three because I really get to imagine the individual children who will receive the items. I try to get the volunteers that I work with to imagine them too, and try to think about how they can make each clothing pack, book bundle, or each KidPack special and unique for the child who will receive it.

What story about a child we have served has stuck with you most?  
A few years ago we had a partner who works in foster care come to speak at our winter fundraiser. She told a story about two children who were left at a swimming pool. All they had with them were their wet bathing suits, but C2C was able to provide them with emergency KidPacks that contained a week’s worth of clothing, books, toys, shoes, and school supplies. I’m glad that we were able to help, but it’s absolutely insane and heartbreaking that these kinds of situations exist for children in our city.

What was your favorite book, toy, or outfit as a child?
I was a really imaginative kid. I read all the time. My favorite books were anything by Roald Dahl, but especially Fantastic Mr. Fox and Matilda. I also liked The Babysitter’s Club, The Egypt Game, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. When I wasn’t reading, I was playing Barbies with my sister. We had set characters and storylines that continued for years; it was like our own mini soap opera.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I don’t have a ton of spare time right now because I’m getting my Master’s in English literature at Rutgers University. In addition to taking classes, I also teach two sections of freshman English at Rutgers each semester. When I do have free time, I love to hang out with my friends, watch TV, and read. I spend as much time as possible at my family’s shore house in Wildwood, NJ.

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be?
Oh man, I have a celebrity bucket list so it’s hard to choose just one. I intend on meeting all of them at some point, but if I had my pick, I’d want to meet either J.K. Rowling or Hillary Clinton. I’m never going to just run into either of them on the street, and I have so many questions for each of them about their work and their views. It wouldn’t be enough to just get a picture and an autograph…we’d need to do dinner.   

If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only take 3 things OR one other C2C staff member with you what/who would they be?
Honestly, it’d probably benefit me more to take a C2C staff member rather than three material possessions. If Sarah Busbey, Joe Spause, and Brian Kindle can run the Tough Mudder race, they can definitely survive on a deserted island longer than I could. Plus, any one of them would be good company!

What children’s character can you relate with most?
Though I have never had to destroy a horcrux, I feel like I can relate to Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter books. She’s a smart girl who works hard and cares about social justice issues. She’s also a loyal friend. Not a bad fictional character to want to be like!

Thank you for allowing us to learn a little about you, Maureen! Best wishes for a fun and relaxing 4th of July weekend. Stay tuned for another staff spotlight next Friday.

Entry filed under: C2C, C2C Staff Spotlight, Cradles to Crayons, Philadelphia. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Lindsey Cuddeback C2C Staff Spotlight: 8 Questions with Jaci DiMare

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


C2C Boston Twitter Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

facebook

become our fan on facebook!

Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

